Until We Meet Again.

I’m dusting this blog off because I need to write my thoughts out. This weekend was a really hard one for the family. We had to say goodbye to my nephew/son, Dale. He was affectionately known as my third child because wherever Ryan was, he was right beside him. They were not only first cousins but being born 2 months apart to the day, they were also running buddies…partners in crime.

He’s taking this one really hard…both of my kids are but Rey is more like me, she’s gonna be there for anyone who needs her, and she was. Ry and Dale had a 2-year start before my daughter was born and both were boys so you know they ganged up on her.

She’s my daughter though so, she held her own

It dawned on me that the last homegoing I’d attended was my dad’s, almost 4 years ago. And in true homegoing fashion, you see people that you haven’t seen in ages.

Funerals and weddings always bring people together.

It was a lovely homegoing though…a celebration of the gregarious spirit he will always be…even on the other side.

I’m glad I told him that I loved him the last time we spoke. I’m glad I have so many wonderful memories that include him.

6 thoughts on “Until We Meet Again.

  1. I’m sad to read this. But I know you and your children are strong and will move forward through the grief and loneliness. You have more family than you know and our prayers surround you.

  2. How sad to learn this! In the photos, your daughter looks so much like her daughter. I’m glad you have sweet people around you. In New Orleans there’s so often the recognition of the spiritual continuation, one of the things I like the best about New Orleans. sending love, sp

Leave a comment