Day 2…My First Love

Ugh, do I really have to write about this stuff?

My first love*sigh* where do I begin?  My first love is really nothing special but, it did put me through a LOT of drama at young age. I was 17, a senior in high school when I met him and he was 19. I remember telling my girlfriends “chile, I got me a college man”… in retrospect, I should have said “drama man.”

That boy put me through 3 years of it.

I met him walking home from school one day.  He lived in the neighborhood across the tracks from mine. I remember I had shorts on because, I had just come from track practice and  he began flirting with me…I took one look at him and said…”he’s cute.”

He was very handsome.  He’s black but, most people think he’s Hispanic and very intelligent. Beauty and brains…I was hooked.

He asked  for my phone number, I gave it to him and he gave me his.  It was then that I found out…he had a kid.

He became a father at 17 and the girl was 14 or 15 when she had his kid.  He told me that, they weren’t together, that she only came around to bring the kid to see him. I believed him and for a while everything was fine. He started asking for “my goodies” naturally because he was already sexually active.  I was still a virgin.  I made him wait…and wait.  I didn’t want to become pregnant while in school and the only I knew how to guarantee that was…not to do it.

Well into my senior year…I gave in.  I couldn’t help it…he looked at me with those puppy dog eyes and said, “love won’t let me wait.”

Damn…that was it…panties came off.

I’ll never forget that moment. It was at an abandoned house not too far from where he lived. He had taken some fresh sheets from his house and brought them there.

My first time was hot!

The roof is on fire kind of hot!

No, not because of the act…hell, he didn’t know what he was doing either.

It’s because…WE BURNED THE HOUSE DOWN!

yep, all the way to the ground…firemen spraying water,neighbors outside watching everything.

See, what had happened was…

He was a smoker so, after my “deflowering”  he was smoking a cigarette and when he finished, he just flicked it but…it wasn’t out.

After a minute, we saw this smoke coming from the other side of the room so, he goes over to see what was happening.

The convo went like this,

him: shit, it caught on fire!

me:what?

him: It’s burning! It’s on fire!

me: PEE ON IT!

* so, he whips it out and attempts to pee on the fire*

him: I CAN’T PEE!  WE GOTTA GET OUTTA HERE!

So, we leave the house and by the time we get up the street…the blaze is going pretty damned good  now.

*remember this is pre-cell phone days so, we couldn’t call it in.

Then, we hear the sirens blaring and see the fire trucks coming down the street…neighbors are coming outta their homes to see what’s going on.

And we’re standing on the corner just looking  around like…how’d that shit happen?

After we watched them put the fire out, he walked me home and we stayed together for 3 years.

Three years of drama.  I kept catching him with other girls and we’d do the typical “break up and get back together”  waltz.  At the age of 20, I just couldn’t do it anymore and I broke up with him for good.

His mother stopped speaking to me because, she wanted me to marry her son and since I broke up with him… she was angry at me.

She should have been angry at her cheating son…but, I know how mothers’ can be.

Every now and then, he and I run into one another.  We still laugh about the fire HE started over 30 years ago.  He still tells me that, I’m the only woman he ever truly loved.

Maybe I am.

But, I moved on a looong time ago.

12 thoughts on “Day 2…My First Love

    1. I still laugh about that today…the whole time I was writing it, I was laughing my butt off!
      That is one of my most treasured memories…who burns down a house while losing their virginity?

    1. What a way to lose your virginity…
      Now, I’m gonna be thinking about the Talking Heads all day…lol

  1. At least your deflowering was memorable. Just think how many women vaguely remember their first time, you’ll always remember yours.

  2. LMAO! That’s a better story than getting braces locked during a first kiss!

    Drama’s mom reminds me of the old Irish joke about Jesus being Irish: Thirty years old, no job, lives at home, and his mother thinks he’s God.

    1. @ Citizen K, Yeah, it’s pretty unforgettable… a friend of mine became pregnant her first time…I’ll take the burning house for 500 Alex.

    1. BWAHAHAHA! Dude, we grown folks now!!!! I thought I told you this story already…who’d I tell? Musta been brother #4 or 5.

Leave a comment