Mardi Gras-The Ride.

Whew, I made it through another one. I must really be getting old because I don’t have the carnival season stamina that I used to have.

Maybe I was just too tired with school, work, decorating purses and coconuts and everything else.

I had a fabulous season though and my ride this year was EPIC!

 I thought we had a large crowd last year (and we did), but this year it was HUUUGGEE!  I had the most fun ever!

Most people who ride in carnival krewes say that once you ride on a float, you never want to get back on the ground. I never felt that way. I love being on the ground as much as being up on the float. I love to flex my “bead-catching muscles” and see how many throws I can get my hands on. This year was the first time that I actually loved being on the float, more than I loved being on the ground.

Everything about that day was fabulous…from the pre-party to the end of the ride.  The weather was gorgeous! I think it was about 65 degrees when we hit the street. And the crowd was out in full force.

I really am proud that the krewe is doing so well.

Looking forward to many more years of riding with such a great group of women.

February 7,2018… we get to do it again!

 

CHECKING IN!

CHECKING IN!

It's a long day, so we eat before we head out. I really like this set up.

It’s a long day, so we eat before we head out. I really liked this set up.

Inside of the pre-party 2,900 women!

Inside the pre-party 2,900 women!

pre-party fun time.

pre-party fun time.

The lady who runs the entire ship, our Captain Julie Lea and a few Nyx Sisters.

The lady who runs the entire ship… our Captain Julie Lea and a few Nyx Sisters.

 

Nyx Goddess VI and a Nyx Sister

Nyx Goddess VI (Zenia Williams) and a Nyx Sister

 

Goddess VI, The Grand Marshall and Captain are the judges of the headdress competition

Goddess VI, The Grand Marshall and Captain are the judges of the headdress competition

mgbleaving

After the pre-party, we were taken to the staging area. Here we are on the floats, getting throws ready for the crowd.

A float full of Nyxsters ready to roll.

A float full of Nyxsters ready to roll.

The crowd was amazing!

The crowd was amazing! They really showed us so much love…I love my city!

Seeing the kids like this makes it all worthwhile

Seeing the kids like this makes it all worthwhile.

Hail Nyx!

  • Pardon the errors…I need new glasses..darnit.

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Mardi Gras-The Ride.

  1. I love this post! I had an amazing ride as well. I’ll say it again, I don’t understand how you are not a float lieutenant because you are the epitome of Nyx Spirit. Your love for the krewe is obvious and that’s more than I can say about a lot of the float lieutenants. You are such a wonderful ambassador for the krewe.
    I can’t wait until next year either. Hopefully, you and I will get a chance to meet.
    Thanks for answering all of my crazy questions. You have helped me more than you could possibly know. Are you going to blog about the ball as well?

    • Hope you had a wonderful time Ida! It was so great running into you at Parkway’s…talk about serendipity at work! We walked down to Endymion, but they were throwing horribly so we left.

  2. Great post! I love your devotion to the krewe.You can feel the love in your writing.It’s nice to read positive things about the krewe. I agree,you do rock and you should be a float lieutenant.

    • Thanks Vee! I do love the krewe. I’ve met some awesome women that I would not have otherwise met because of it.

    • Reg, I do think that it has become my favorite time of the year. And that’s saying something considering how horrible the krewes were to black when we were growing up.

Leave a Reply

