Randoms

Being a grandmother is everything people said it would be. I can’t spoil my grandbaby enough. I get to do all the loving without all the responsibility.  It is thee best part of the second chapter of my life.

Look at that beautiful face! Lawd, my pockets are gonna stay empty fooling around with her.

This summer, I had the wonderful opportunity to meet up with one of my most favorite bloggers (even though he gave up the ghost and no longer blogs) Reggie of Reggie’s Rantings.

blog-reg-2

Reg, NavySeal and moi.

This picture was actually our second time meeting. Reg is such an awesome guy. I’m glad that we were able to finally meet and that I can call him a friend. Blogging has introduced me to some pretty amazing people.

NavySeal and I are both back in school. I feel old walking across  the campus. Not because I’m surrounded by young folks,but because you have to park your car so darn far away from the buildings that I’m tired before I get there.  They need to have geriatric parking on campus.

I am so ready for this cool weather. My electric bill took a huge hit this summer. Summers in the deep south are murder. I don’t think I paid less than $400 a month the entire summer. My electric bill needed a break.

My neighbor’s gardener cut the roots to my morning glories and killed my entire living fence. Rat bastids. It was so pretty…butterflies would visit every morning. Now, I have to start her all over again.

 

My living fence that is now dead. SIGH.

My living fence that is now dead. SIGH.

My  92-year-old aunt is in hospice care. My dad had 9 siblings and only my aunt and my dad are left. It saddens me to think that when he crosses over, my family will have lost an entire generation and we will become the elders of the family. I can’t wrap my head around that.

In addition to decorating purses, I also have to decorate coconuts this year. My brother and a few of his friends are riding in Zulu so I have a few hundred (yes, a few hundred…like 900) coconuts to do. This is my first time decorating coconuts.

blog-prince-2

A tribute to Prince coconut! 🙂

This year is almost over and I feel as if I’ve gotten nothing accomplished.  I’m so ready for 2017.

I’m still a member of the Krewe of Nyx. I think Mardi Gras 2017 will be my last year as a member though. NavySeal and I want to ride in a Krewe together.  We’re looking at the Krewe of Orpheus which  rolls on Lundi Gras. It will be a totally new experience for me. And I get to ride with NavySeal…which is the best part of all.

Why is 10 lbs so hard to lose? I didn’t realize how much I love to eat til I decided to lose 10 pounds. The struggle is real.

What’s going on with you today?

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Randoms

  1. She’s such a beautiful baby! Congratulations and go ahead and spoil her. I’m no longer a member of Nyx. I’m sure you’re aware of the controversy that was in the media. I found that there is a lot of drama with that krewe. I’m not surprised that they lost a lot of members.

  2. Great catch up,baby girl is precious. A few years ago i becasme one of the elders in my family and our ranks sre growing its strange .i am ready for this year to end suddenly lost my love of 18 yrs and still not in good place ..but glitter keeping me busy good luck with the cocos hope you have assembly line…keep blogging in ya spare time

    • Hi Ida! You’re doing really great with the glittering! Keep up the fantastic job! I’m so sorry for your loss. I know it must be hard for you. I’m ready for this year to end as well.

  3. Your granddaughter is an adorable little girl!!!

    One of these days I’m sure one of my children will see fit to make me someone’s grandfather…….but that day ain’t here yet,

    It was truly a pleasure finally meeting you and Navy Seal. When business takes me back to ‘Nawlins, you can bet your bottom dollar that I will reach out to the two of you again. Hopefully we can dine as well as we have the last two times I’ve dropped in to see you.

    Take care of yourself…………………….and say hello to the hubs for me.

  4. dear bc, I enjoyed hearing from you, what a lot of changes. The only way I get geriatric parking at my campus is to get up at 5am… and I really feel for you with the morning glories. If there isn’t a cold winter, some of them will come back on their own from the seeds that fell, that’s how I got a lot of multi-colored ones this year, but not as many as you! your grand baby girl has a million dollar smile. my niece in Massachusetts has a new little baby and a 4 year old, and I love to learn about them. Take care & best to Navy Seal, Love, susanna

    • Hi SP! I am hoping that the morning glories come back…no luck so far though.I’d love to have multi-colored ones! Congrats on the new great niece! 🙂

Leave a Reply

