It’s Carnival Time!

Is this thing on? Hellllooo out there! Y’all gotta forgive me, I know it’s been a long time…the grand baby is almost 8 months old so, I know it’s been a minute. I’ve been very busy.  Ya girl is back in school continuing her eduMAcation and it’s taking up so much of my time.

Y’all know that if anything would bring me back to blogging though, it would be Mardi Gras. This is my favorite time of the year. We’re going to catch up on a lot of stuff (the Nyx Myx ball was off the chain and I went to the inaugural ball for the Krewe of Pandora.)  Also,when we roll on Feb 3rd (I’m so not ready) I’m going to take a video and post it. We’re expecting a huge crowd out this year and the turn from Napoleon Ave. onto St. Charles Ave. is a sight to see. I’m gonna video it and put it up for you all to see. This is the Krewe of Nyx’s 5th year anniversary and what was once a krewe of a little over 500 women is now a krewe with… wait for it…2,232 women riding!

That’s pretty amazing.

I’m so glad that I am a member of such a wonderful krewe. I’m gonna tell you all more about that later though.

Because today is the day that the parades hit the streets, I have people looking for information so here we go,

The link to the 2016 Mardi Gras parade schedule is here

If you live out of town and want to watch the parades or if you live in the city and just can’t make it out for whatever reason, NOLA.COM has a parade cam that’s located on the corner of St. Charles and Napoleon. You can catch all of the parades (with the exception of Zulu and Endymion) on this parade cam. The commentators have gotten much better (the first few years were rough with them) and it’s a live feed  so if you want to watch the parades, make sure you check out what time the parade starts. The parade cam is not too far from where the parades line up.

You can find the link to the parade cam here.

I’m gonna wave at all of my fabulous readers who will catch the Krewe of Nyx on the parade cam. It has become a tradition for me now.

This year I’m on float 28, sidewalk side (that’s passenger side for those who don’t know Mardi Gras lingo.) If you come out on the route to support us,just yell  BayouCreole and I’ll  have a beautifully decorated purse for you!

Grandstand tickets are still for sale. If you want to purchase grandstand tickets, you can find the link here.

I’m actually trying something new this year. This will be my first year catching Endymion in the grandstands. I usually catch them under the bridge at Canal and Claiborne.  I thought I’d switch it up this year. This is Endymion’s 50th year anniversary! Wow…Can’t wait to see what they put on the streets this year.

The St. Augustine Marching 100 will be in the following parades

st. aug schedule

And I think that’s about it. If I think of anything, I’ll come back and put a mini post up, but I think I’ve covered the basics. I know a lot of folks (including me) love Randazzo’s king cakes. They(Manny Randazzo’s in Metarie) are usually closed on Sundays, but they will be open the Sunday before Lundi Gras (think the day Bacchus rolls.) So if you want to get a king cake before Lundi Gras, you can go there Sunday.

The link to Randazzo’s is here.

Well loves, I think that’s it for now. I gotta get outta here. I’m trying to catch the parades tonight.

Will be back soon…MUAH!

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s Carnival Time!

  1. It’s been years since I’ve seen a parade.

    Someone in my office had King Cake on Friday…………..that took me back.

    I hope you have an awesome Mardi Gras BayouCreole.

  2. I just moved back to NOLA about 6 months ago. I’ve read about Mardi Gras on your blog, but experienced everything for the first time this year. Zulu Ball, all the parades (I can’t even remember the names, but I know I did Endymion, Zulu/Rex, the Hindu Parade, Orpheus) and parties. It was an amazing time. Hope I’m still in NOLA next year! (depends on the job)

    Thanks for the carnival primer!

Leave a Reply

