Happy Mardi Gras!

Happy Mardi Gras!

It’s cold as heck out there! I’m home where it’s warm and toasty. This is the 2nd year that I opted not to get grandstand seats and it’s been cold as the dickens out there both years.

I’m just beginning to feel like my ole’ self since my ride….which was totally amazing!!

The Krewe of Nyx took over the city on Wednesday, February 11th with over 1,500 women riding!

nyx parade night
It was an absolutely gorgeous night. No rain and it wasn’t cold at all. I only needed 2 shirts under my costume and I was quite comfortable.

And we weren’t cramped on the floats.

I love that we aren’t  forced to be packed like sardines.  I looked at a few other krewes and they were packed kinda tight. I don’t see how they had room to move on some of the floats I’ve seen.

My float mate and I were in this little section by ourselves and it was heavenly!

DSCN3284

 

I wanted to get a video of my ride but, they has so many people out there. I was a throwing fool!I didn’t even have time to get a bite of a sandwich.

My kids (well, they’re young adults now)Yellow Jacket and Purple Knight always come out on the route to support me and the krewe. Seeing them and Navy Seal out there is the highlight of my ride.

my heartbeats

And they always managed to get a shot of me in action on the float,

me on float (2)

me on float2 (2)

 

I want to say thank you to all the readers who came out and supported the krewe. It really means a lot to me.

nyx throws

Krewe of Nyx throws 2015

 

But as much as I loved my ride, I really want to give some attention to a new krewe that hit the streets of New Orleans this year. The first predominantly African-American all-female krewe,

the Mystic Krewe of Femme Fatale (MKFF).

Actually, two predominately African-American all-female krewes hit the streets this year.

The other krewe is the Krewe of Athena,Inc. but they ride in Metairie. I’m really happy to finally see black women riding in such heavy numbers. It’s been long overdue.

Congratulations to MKFF and the Krewe of Athena!

You are now a part of Mardi Gras history.

Here are a few pictures of MKFF.

DSCN3154 (2)

DSCN3165

 

DSCN3154 (2)

 

They’re gonna have to have a meeting with their members about keeping those masks on their faces though. It’s a violation to ride unmasked and I saw a few women riding without their masks on.

Well, that’s all I have for now. I’m gonna watch all the parades on the internet so, I have to go!

This is the last day of the giveaway! I’m gonna have Navy Seal pull the winner this evening and I’ll post the winner tomorrow.

Y’all be safe out there!

Have a great Mardi Gras!

 

9 thoughts on “Happy Mardi Gras!

  1. I know I say this every year but I’m going to make it to New Orleans for Mardi Gras one year. I’m going to put that on my things to do before turning 50 list, so I have 5 years to get it done.

    Love the pictures and every time I see a picture of your purses, I get amazed. I’m glad you had a great time.

  2. I love your post. You look like you have so much fun in the beautiful city of New Orleans. I recently mailed in my membership and am excited to be a NyxSister-in-waiting! I’m waiting for the final say-so before I call myself a full sister! I still can’t believe it. Your posts give me glimpse of what’s to come. I’ve already started looking for purses and feel like I am way behind. Hopefully I can make beautiful ones like you have! Has anyone used cigar boxes, don’t want to jump the gun but so excited to start creating magic. I look forward to meeting you.

    • Congratulations Melissa! Let me be the first to welcome you to the Krewe of Nyx! You’re going to have the time of your life in the krewe… go right ahead and start decorating purses. Some of us have already started for 2016 so, you aren’t jumping the gun at all. I don’t know if anyone has decorated cigar boxes yet but, I have a few at home that I’ve been itching to decorate. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to email me@bayoucreole63@yahoo.com. I look forward to meeting you as well! Hail Nyx!

  3. Hello and so happy I found your blog! I, too, am in New Orleans and a new Nyx Sister this year! I became a Sister-in-Waiting last October and just received my full membership this month! I am so excited!!! I hope to get to meet you at some of the events (I will definitely be at the one in June)! Your purses are amazing and I will have to get some glitter tips from you 🙂 You can find me over at my blog at http://ampruns.blogspot.com
    Hail Nyx!

    • Hi Allyson! Welcome to the sisterhood! Sorry for not responding earlier but, this crazy computer of mine was in the “computer hospital” for a long time. I will search for you on the Nyx Sisters fb page…hopefully, we’ll get to meet at the Summer Social! 🙂 Hail Nyx!

Leave a Reply

