Feel Good Friday

Today is a feel good day y’all!

Why is that you say?

Well, a few reasons. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here but, I quit the crazy weekend gig a few weeks ago.  I had to get out of that place.

It’s rachet.

I just couldn’t take working in that place any longer. I like to keep a weekend gig but, that one had to go. It was beginning to change how I feel about nursing.

And I’m already getting tired of the profession as it is. The money’s great but, I want to do more.

So, I’m feeling pretty good that I let some dead weight go.

Also, my bird of paradise is blooming like craaazzyy!  I mean if she were a peacock…she’d be struttin!

birds of paradise.

My neighbor knocked on the door and asked me how I get  her to bloom like that.

The secret’s in the water!

Really…it’s the water. All I do is water her everyday for a minute and leave her alone…yes, I’ve declared it to be a female.

Every time I go to my front door, there she is,

looking all pretty.

Makes me happy.

What else is making me grin?

Well, we’re officially in countdown mode to Mardi Gras!

Yeah buddy!

Five months left before we roll down the streets of NOLA and I can’t wait!  I went to my first official Krewe of Nyx meeting last week. We talked about the throws ( which will be fabulous so, don’t stay home Wednesday, February 26, 2014). If you do, you’ll be mad because, we plan to throw like crazy!

krewe of nyx meeting 2013

krewe of nyx meeting 2013

krewe of nyx  captain and board of directors

krewe of nyx captain and board of directors

And don’t forget, in addition to the fabulous throws, we also have our coveted decorated purses that will be flying from the floats as well. Here’s a lil peek at three of mine…just to get ya mind right so you’ll know what you could be catching…or missing.

In Vino Veritas  Yeah, I know my I's aren't dotted. They were drying now, they're hiding in my heaping pile of crafty stuff.

In Vino Veritas
Yeah, I know my I’s aren’t dotted. They were drying now, they’re hiding in my heaping pile of crafty stuff.

Peacock Purse

Peacock Purse

Tribute to Hubig's in Nyx style!

Tribute to Hubig’s in Nyx style!

Not too shabby  to say  this is my first year decorating purses.  I had no idea I held so much creativity in this lil ole’ body.

The krewe is only in its third year and already has a riding membership of well over 1,000 members.  I hear the waiting list is huge as well.  This is one parade you don’t wanna miss…trust me on that.

Football season is here…

WHO DAT!!

(Tazzee just rolled her eyes…lol)

I nearly had a heart attack when the Saints  played Tampa.

Hopefully, I won’t need a defibrillator this weekend.

Fall festivals are rolling…yay!

Next weekend, I’ll be attending the Hamp Fest featuring the O’Jays!  The Hamp Fest will be held at St. Augustine High School.

I put the link up for any Purple Knights wanting to buy tickets.  Just click  on Hamp Fest.

Y’all know we’re a Purple Knight family…gotta support the school.

I love festivals.

The weather is a lil better with the fall festivals so, I try to make as many as I can.

In the fall, it’s only hot…not hot as hell.

I can deal with that.

My dad is doing better.

Been more like his old self…which is great.

I can handle “old self” dad.

I don’t have anything lined up for this weekend.

I do have to meet some of my Nyx Sisters and help them with some decorating stuff. I’m sure that’s gonna be a lot of fun!

But other than that,

I’m gonna  just the  enjoy the weekend.

Maybe go sit by the lake, or the bayou,

or the river,

I”m a Cancer so, yeah, water is my thing.

And have a few drinks with my best buddy, NavySeal.

Sounds like a winner to me.

Just taking it easy.

Y’all have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Feel Good Friday

    • Awww man, Laura I missed meeting you! We have to meet at the next function. You still have plenty of time for your purses. I started early because I want to be finished before the holiday season.

  1. Look at you, talking about Mardi Gras in September!!! I guess you’re official huh?!?

    I’ve got a green thumb too, I show my plants TLC……and they love me back.

    I love football season, but my Steelers are already on life support, two weeks into the season…….oh and ROLL TIDE!!!!

    • Reg,yeah…it’s official…they have my money! LOL. I’m real early with the carnival bug huh? That’s the thing with the krewes though, they start early to get the show on the road. I’ve already put my order in for my throws and I have beaucoup beads to recycle from all the parades I go to…I’m set! I’m glad you said ROLL TIDE…you just gave me a great idea!

  2. Congratulations on your free weekends, BC! Enjoy. 🙂

    Your Bird of Paradise looks beautiful and so healthy looking too. I’m tending to a little shrub in my yard now and it’s a lot of fun.

    I love the purple purse. That’s my favorite color. Being in a Krewe sounds fun.

    Glad to hear your dad is doing okay.

    • Val, That BOP better show out! I had to wait 5 years just for her to bloom. I had no idea that it took 5 years to bloom when I bought her. It was worth the wait though. Yeah, I’m loving the purple purses. The krewes are just starting to kick in gear for Mardi Gras so, a lot of events are going on. It’s a lot of fun. I’ve met so many wonderful women…it’s amazing.
      I’m glad that old bugger of mine is doing much better too Val…makes my life a helluva lot easier! 🙂

  3. Love the creativity! Shoes and purses as throws sound great. BOP is lovely, as a kid I’d get all gunked up from the sticky juice. So pretty though.
    I live 2 blocks from our purple knights in Sherman Oaks. Whats a Hamp festival? I’ll go jump on that link. Cheers, ELB

    • Thanks EL! The Hamp Fest is more like a concert. This is its 5th year. It’s held in the school yard and they usually have great vendors selling food and drinks. I went the year Jeffery Osborne performed and it was marvelous! Since the O’Jays are playing this year…I’m going again. The money goes to the school so, that’s even better. You bring your own chair and chill out. I’m gonna do a post on it. The fest is this Saturday.

  4. Pingback: Big Cajun Week….I think I’m losing it. | sweating for it

  5. Your bird of paradise is beautiful! I love seeing happy plants…I have a few myself – a green thumb is a good thing!

    I really like the purple “In Vino Veritas” bag – and I absolutely love the silver bag with the peacock design! Very nice…

    • Hey Septltura! Yeah, I really love how that BOP looks outside. She’s putting the neighbors plants to shame…lol My purses came out much better than I had anticipated. They’re pretty cool to make.

Leave a Reply

