4 Days To Fifty…It’s All In My Head.

Happy July!

I can’t believe this year is almost gone.  It’s hot and humid as hell in New Orleans. I don’t know how folks who aren’t used to this kind of heat are gonna walk from the Convention Center to the Superdome this week (Essence Festival).

Even though my birthday is in a few days, I still haven’t figured out anything to do.

I wanted to go to Vegas, but it’s hotter there than it is here so, we’re gonna wait until the fall to go.

Is it weird that I want to see Joan Rivers if she’s out there? I’ve always loved  Joan Rivers.

Back to the birthday thing.

I think I’m just gonna stay home and do a quiet celebration here.

Maybe get  into some of that Essence Fest hoopla,

if it isn’t too hot for me.

I was going to have brunch at Brennan’s, but since they’re closed…

Does anyone else make a great Bananas Foster?

I share my birthday with my daughter so, we’ll probably do something together,

before she ditches me for her friends.

Whatever I decide to do, I’ll do a post on it.

I did take time off from the jobs. I’m gonna enjoy almost two weeks away from the craziness of nursing.

That’s a gift in and of itself.

In other news, my phone broke on me.

It froze up and I had to break down and get a new one.

I’m pissed because, all of my festival photos were on that phone.

I’m not a person who likes to upgrade. My daughter literally took my dinosaur phone away from me and upgraded me to the Galaxy Prevail last year and I was still behind the times.

I shocked the hell out of everyone and  got the Galaxy S4.

The way I figured it is, I may as well go all out because, I don’t plan on upgrading for a looonng time.

I can’t lie, I love this phone!

It’s really gonna come in handy during carnival.

Speaking of which,

Two of my good friends just received invitations to become riding members of  Nyx!

I am so excited for them! !Hopefully, we’ll all be on the same float. It’s really gonna be fun now!

I had to give up running long distances and I’m really sad about that. My knees just can’t take the pounding. I was just getting to the point where I could run a mile nonstop,but  my knees are taking a beating so, I’m giving up the ghost on long distances.

I find that, I don’t have a problem with short distances so, I’m gonna listen to my body.

I’m still going to enter  5K races because I walk pretty fast and if there’s a time restriction, I’ll still be good.

Guess what?

I’m doing a giveaway!

See how I snuck that in there.

That’s because I want to give you, my faithful readers, the chance to win.

And if you’ve made it this far,

you’re a faithful reader.

It’s a $50 gift card from Walmart  and all you have to do to enter is comment.

I want to put some love back into the universe,

and show you all some love for taking the time to read this lil ole’ blog of mine.

I’m going to do the drawing on my birthday…July 6th.

Each time you comment, I’ll put your name in the hat.

I’ll post the winner on Monday, July 8th.

The winner will have one week to contact me with their address.

After a week, it goes to the runner-up.

I’ll be putting posts up the rest of the week and I haven’t the foggiest idea  what I’ll be blogging about so,

it’ll be interesting to see what pops.

Countdown to 50 begins!!

16 thoughts on “4 Days To Fifty…It’s All In My Head.

  1. 50 Ali?!? Really?!?

    By the way, that’s probably the first time I’ve ever actually used your name.

    Anyway I hope that you have an awesome 50th birthday!!! I guess I’ll get to see what thats like in 20 months time. 50 Wow!!! You know you don’t look anywhere near 50 right?!? Good black don’t crack, you don’t look a day over 35.

    I honestly don’t know what I’d want to do for my 50th birthday. Hell I don’t remember what I did for my 40th?!? I think I went to Ruth Chris’s on Veterans Blvd for my 30th.

    Dammit woman enjoy your birthday!!!

    • Reg, it IS the first time you’ve used my name! I’m gonna milk the heck out of that day! LOL
      You know, I was just talking to my husband about the big 5 -OH and, I don’t feel as if I’m 50 (not that I know how 50 is supposed to feel). I do feel blessed that I’m aging gracefully. I try to keep stress to a minimum and I get my rest Reg. No running the streets like a 20 year old for me. Been there, done that. NOLA streets don’t owe me a thing. You know one of my co-workers (who is also 50) asked me if I wanted to go to the clubs with her. Then, in the next breathe had the nerve to say, last week when she went to the club, she was a little tipsy and fell all over the dance floor! Uhhh no.

      • That doesn’t sound like a good look. If it’s all the same to her, I think I’d just stay on the front porch and sit in my chair and rock a few hours away with my Nook in my hand.

      • I know huh? I did laugh when she told me she slid all over the floor though. Who does that at 50? She does.

  2. you will love fifty suggestion I did something I couldnt do as a child I had a sleep over it was fun just turned 65 last week and had a kandi party u know adult with stripper it was a surprise and a blast

    • Happy (belated)Birthday Ida! I can’t wait to turn 50!I’m going to think of something to do. You know there’s always something for an adult to do in this city. Ohhh, you had a Kandi party!?! I bet you did have a blast 😉

  3. Wow 50!!! I wish I was coming to Essence this year so I could celebrate with you. I will be in town for the Falcons/Saints game in September. Hopefully you won’t be working the entire weekend.

    I had to back off running too. I got bursitis in my hip. I’m too young for hip problems! So right now it’s mainly the elliptical and swimming for me.

    • Taz, I wish you were here too! I’m trying to take that day off, I really want to go to the game. If I can find someone to work for me…it’s ON! I think swimming is in my future too. It’s a better exercise for the body.

  4. 50!!! Whatever you are doing please share and help a younger sista out! You made a good decision by not coming to Vegas now because it is truly hell on earth these days! I’m like Lawd what did I do???? LOL!!!!

    • TOW, I didn’t know you were in Vegas?! I was going to try to hit Vegas in October, but then Taz just reminded me that, that’ll be football season. I’m gonna figure something out. I have to thank my genetics on the aging gracefully thing. My dad is 83 and he doesn’t look it. Not looking my age is finally paying off. When I was younger, it was a mess. People coming up to me lecturing me about being a pregnant teen, when I was a 29 year old married woman! Yeah, I had that happen a LOT of times when I was pregnant…lol

  5. F I F T Y !!!!! and YOU still don’tr look a day over 35 ! I mean REALLY …huh FOLKS …does she look 50 ??? I think NOT !!! LOL BTW enter me in the giveaway (some DVD’s I want to get)

  6. hi bc, 50 is the new 30… and really people are living longer because we are improving, so the age thing is radically changing. enjoy your birthday week! I’m always happy to read what’s going on. have fun, sp

Leave a Reply

