Better With M Super Bowl Launch

Last Thursday,NS and I attended the ‘M&Ms Better With M Dinner’ at the Foundry (thank you Charlotte).   It was a star-studded event which celebrated the launch of their brand new marketing campaign ‘Better With M.’  Proceeds from the event went to New Orleans Habitat for Humanity.

No marketing campaign was needed to get me through the door, they had me at M&Ms.

I love me some M&Ms!

The three-course, chocolate infused dinner was created by New Orleans own Chef John Besh and for the entertainment…Vanessa Williams!

What a treat!

The event was spectacular!

As soon as you entered, there was a beautiful table set with gift bags of m&ms with your name on it. On the other side of the tag was the name of a street in New Orleans.  NS and I were on Frenchman St.  Later on, we learned that, the street was actually the table where we would be seated.

Nude posing M&Ms...too funny.

Nude posing M&Ms…too funny.

Cocktails were flowing in typical NOLA fashion (food and drinks everywhere) and the Grammy-award winning Rebirth Brass Band kept everyone grooving.  I usually take pics of the food but those hors d’oeuvres didn’t stand a chance.

NS was in heaven as they were serving Glenfiddich 21-year-old Scotch. I even imbibed a cocktail or two.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rebirth Brass Band

Rebirth Brass Band

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t get the chance to take pics of too many celebrities. I did catch Neil Patrick Harris walking in though,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and I met Chef John Besh  as he was walking around the room, talking to everyone. He is such a sweet man!

I eye-spyed Chef Arron Sanchez (my husband in my next life) walking around and well, there was no way I was letting that moment of opportunity get away.

Chef John Besh,NS and Chef Aaron Sanchez

Chef John Besh,NS and Chef Aaron Sanchez

After cocktails, we were all ushered into the dining area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

our table

our table

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1st course.

1st course.

2nd course.

2nd course.

 

Unfortunately, I have no pic of the desert, but it was delicious!  As soon as the wait staff began to bring out the deserts, Vanessa Williams hit the stage.

She looks incredible and her voice is flawless!

That woman can SANG!

van williams

photo credit m&ms

photo credit m&ms

Her daughter Jillian was also there as one of the background singers.  I was floored by Vanessa’s performance. I always knew she had a beautiful voice, but I had no idea that she would put on such a great show.

For her last act, she changed her outfit and then sang her hit ‘Work To Do.’

vanessa willaims

She put a spin on it and did a Salsa that would put these young’uns to shame!

Way to go Vanessa! If you ever hit the road, count me there!

The city is really being hammered with festivities. We began with a week-end of parades, followed by the Super Bowl and now we’re back to parading with the Krewe of Druids and the Mystic Krewe of Nyx kicking it off Wednesday night.

I wouldn’t change it for anything.

The good times are rolling in full force,

and everything  has been much better

with M.

us2

16 thoughts on “Better With M Super Bowl Launch

    • Taz, it was. I still can’t get over Vanessa. I’m glad I was able to catch such a rare performance.
      Don’t you just love the M&Ms faces?

  1. You know I’m not really surprised to hear that Vanessa Williams can sing. She always had a beautiful voice, to go along with that face of hers.

    So was her daughter cute or did her daughter take after her ugly father?!?

    • Reg, her daughter is cute. Not as cute as her mom though. Her singing was a lil off too. To be honest, Vanessa didn’t need any background singers. That woman held it DOWN! And that band of her…whoa! They were rocking ! She said she’s been with her band since 1994 so, they knew how to groove with her.

    • S23,I know how u feel. I missed it when I lived away. Bringing Tyler is a wonderful idea! He’s going to have a great time!

  2. Wow, Vanessa Williams! She used to be my celeb crush before AK. She’s so amazingly talented.

    I swear, if I could afford it I’d move to New Orleans. You always have so much fun! Super Bowl, Mardi Gras, it just never stops!

    • Val, she’s still as beautiful as ever! And goodness, her voice! I try to have as much fun as the city will allow me to Val and that’s quite a bit!LOL
      It can wear you out though so, you really have to pace yourself.

  3. Dear Bayoucreole,
    I loved the chocolate sculpture. What was missing on that first plate?
    Vanessa is a triple Broadway threat, ya’ll were so lucky to see her live!
    I am stuck in Cali, and if it wasn’t for your blog and the parade cams I’d have to strangle myself with old throws. I’ve been cooking creole dishes, listening to cd’s and looking at old jazzfest posters to boost my spirits. Congrats on your progress for Nyx. Ya’ll looked fine at the ball.

    • Ellen the first plate was just a salad…it was a good one though. Had shrimp and some other stuff. Besh called it, Louisiana Seafood Boil.
      Yeah, Vanessa is a triple threat…it was amazing.
      I am so happy that you come here and get a taste of NOLA! Hang around, you know I’m always into something around the city!

Leave a Reply

