Birds

One of my most favorite things to do is gardening.

I’m pretty great with plants so, I often buy them when they’re small and nurse them into mature beautiful ones.

I purchased a Bird of Paradise plant about 5 years ago only to find out that,they take about 5 years to fully mature.

That lil plant taught me the art of patience because I was beginning to wonder if I’d ever see any real blooms from her.

Then one year, she bloomed for me and gave me hope.

Well, baby girl is all grown up now and is showing out,

Three birds have bloomed and I have about 6 more getting ready to bloom in a few days!

WhooHoo!

Looking at her it’s hard to believe that, I paid $4.oo for her. She was so small then.

A plant this size would cost a good chunk of money.

It seems that, in addition to gardening, I’ve picked up another thing to take up my time hobby.

BIRDS!

For about two months,I’ve been filling my bird feeder so the birds in the area could have some food.

Well, they must have put the word out because those lil buggers come around religiously now EXPECTING food from me!

Sparrows,Doves and I have one Blue Jay that comes around every single day.

I usually put food in the feeder twice a day and I’ll  put some on the ground for the Doves and Blue Jay…

I’m such a sucker for animals.

That Blue Jay was hard as hell to take a pic of because, he’ll fly at the slightest sound and I just have a regular ole’ camera so, I had to wait for him to get comfy,

now, I’m bird watching…lol

There’s also an owl around here. I haven’t seen him but, he’s pretty close. We think he’s in the church steeple.

I love to hear him hooting.

It’s relaxing.

A piece of country living in an urban city,

whod’a thunk it?

9 thoughts on “Birds

  1. LOL…I am enjoying it as well. Between the flora and fauna it’s almost like being in the rain forest again !!! This time w/o the explosions and rounds being fired !

  2. I had an orchid, BC, that also required a lot of patience. It didn’t take 5 years though. Lol My orchid took a year to bloom. It was sooo beautiful! You have a lot of patience to wait 5 years. Wow.

    If you get enough birds to come round then maybe they’ll even eat the mosquitoes too.

    • Thanks Val. I want another one but, I don’t want to wait 5 more years. I could split the one I have but I keep thinking I’m gonna kill it so, I’m leaving it alone.

  3. Gorgeous Bird!!! And birdies! 🙂 We had a bird feeder too – Moo Moo loves to try to catch birds eating out of it. Those little suckers sure are messy though!

    • SIL, yeah those suckers are messy! I was fussing at the hubby because I thought he knocked over the bird feeder. Then I saw what a mess the doves made…lol

Leave a Reply

