The Goings On.

I can’t believe the time got away from me. I hadn’t blogged in about 3 weeks.

I’m noticing that, it’s taking longer for me to recover from Mardi Gras.

I’m gonna have to do something about that, especially since I’m  waiting on the Krewe of Nyx to call me, or email me.

Yeah, every time I mention Mardi Gras, I’m mentioning “Krewe of Nyx”…lol

Mardi Gras…KREWE OF NYX!

Just trying to keep that positive energy in the air  so that email can arrive.

The hubby and I will be riding in the Krewe of King Arthur next year!

I searched the net for krewes looking for new members and it seems a LOT of them are due to Katrina and the economy.

The Krewe of King Arthur stood out most to me….seems like it’s really diverse and going through some photos, I noticed someone I met at The Howling in the Wires book launch on one of their floats. She’s a super cool, uber smart chick who loves NOLA with a passion and if she’s a member…it’s gotta be a great krewe.

Parading ain’t cheap though.

Having to purchase throws to last an entire route takes some cheddar,

or as my kids say, some GUAP!

…the latest slang term for money.

The fact that I go to so many parades is finally gonna pay off.

I’ve gone through some of  the throws I caught and surprisingly enough, I have quite a few that I can recycle and use when I ride on the float.

Why some folks are throwing bags of beads at us, I don’t know but…THANK YOU!  I also have boxes and boxes of loose beads that I’m gonna clean and recycle so I can use those as well.

All in support of a “Green Mardi Gras.”

May as well use’em since I have’em.

Also, I got a great deal on these plush gators!  They were really cheap since carnival is over.

Can’t wait to throw these to the kids on the route!

The Lion King  Musical  is in New Orleans at the Mahalia Jackson Theater of Performing Arts from March 15th to April 15th.

It’s been receiving rave reviews.  A friend of mine went on opening night and she LOVED it!

Navy Seal and I will be sitting front and center on April 12th!

The Louisiana Crawfish Festival is this weekend in  “da parish” …Chalmette from March 22nd -25th.

It’s raining something fierce  here so, I hope they don’t get rained out.

I haven’t been in years but, I want to go  Friday…weather permitting.

I could really use a dish of Crawfish Monica right about now.

One of my favorite bloggers, Sooz and her husband J, are arriving in New Orleans tomorrow!

YAY!!!

I found her blog(follow your crazy) one day surfing the net and I was instantly hooked!

Sooz is relocating from Denver.

Her body was there but, her soul has been in NOLA just waiting for her to arrive.

Tomorrow,they become one.

She followed her dream and moved to a place  her heart and soul desired…you go girl!

Life is for the living!

Well, that’s all I have for now.

Let the festivals begin!!

10 thoughts on “The Goings On.

  1. I can imagine that this is a good time of the year to buy beads, they’ve gotta be dirt cheap now.

    After reading this, you’ve got my mouth watering for some crawfish. Ain’t nothing like some nice hot crawfish and an ice cold beer…….oh hell yeah!!!

    • Reg, it’s been raining cats and dogs for the past two days BUT, as soon as this mess clears us…that’s what we’ll be having!

  2. Wow, for some reason it sounds so romantic moving to New Orleans. That’s great that your friend is following her dream! Congrats to her.

    You have collected so much stuff. You have about a million beads! Lol

    I love crawfish too. I haven’t had any in years.

    • Val, she is a romantic old city. The older I get, the more I enjoy her. Believe it or not, those beads that I have wouldn’t last 2 blocks on a parade route. I think riders throw about 240-360 dozen! I missed the Crawfish fest but, we’re gonna buy some and sit outside and pinch da tails and suck da heads on Friday!

  3. Love reading about my city…hope to make Mardi Gras next year…my city is calling my name…beckoning me for something..Will I answer the call?

    • Yes. You.Will.
      I remember when I was 27 and planning my wedding. The pastor told my (now ex) husband who is from Philly that, people from New Orleans never really leave.
      That we leave for awhile but, the city always calls us back…and we answer.
      I was like, “man,you’re crazy…I can’t WAIT to leave.”
      I laugh when I think about how right he was.

  4. We made it! We’re here we’re here we’re here!!! 😀 Rolled into town late last Wednesday in all of that rain – am now FINALLY back online via ye olde hotel room wireless internet. Have a lot of catching up to do! Thank you for your bloggy welcome – it means tons to me. 🙂

    Way to go on krewedom, and I think it’s awesome that you have at least a couple block’s worth already from your collection, seems like that’s definitely the way to go about it. LOVE the stuffed gators too, they are way too cute. ;D

    • I’m so glad you and J made it here safely!!!
      WOOHOO!!! Can you believe it? You’re here! You are such an inspiration…do you know how many people are too afraid to follow their dream?
      You are amazing!
      Wait until Mardi Gras…that’s when it’s REALLY gonna hit ya!

      I read your post, I hope you have a picture of yourself behind the wheel of that big U-Haul!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

