Weekend Wrap…The King’s Day Edition

 

Friday was Kings Day so, you know what that means,

KING CAKE TIME BABY!

I know a lot of people aren’t from the area and don’t know the significance of king cakes so, here’s a great link that explains it all right here.

But, who really cares about the significance,

they TASTE good!

NOLA.com had a contest  for who had the best king cakes.

The Randazzo’s  family held the top three spots.

I went to Randazzo’s in Metairie to get me one but, I went too late and they only had LSU king cakes.

I’m a traditionalist…give me the a regular old king cake….

oval shaped and sugary.

I’ll be going back today bright and early for one.

Oracle, I’m  sending my babies their king cake.  I’ll email you with the arrival date.

We’ve entered the official start of Mardi Gras!

I’ve already talked to a few co-workers  and we’re  hammering out a deal for them to work the Endymion/Bacchus weekend for me. The problem is, most of them live on the wet westbank and NOMTOC is their big parade. It’s always the same day as Endymion so, we’re trying to figure something out.

I won’t be working that weekend though…

I’m getting it how I live.

Ok, a lot of folks are like, what does THAT mean?

Well, according the urban dictionary it means,

1: to get money however you can or to use methods most available to you

2. to acquire anything by any means necessary or available.

It’s one of those NOLA slangs  that I hear waayy too often…lol.

Is it just me or are the seasons running into one another?

I was taking down the Christmas decorations and putting up the Mardi Gras ones at the same time.

The grandstand seating tickets in Lafayette Square are on sale now, they started early this year.

Here’s the link.

NavySeal and I will purchasing tickets once again.

This is our 3rd year now…wow.

I think since the kids pretty much do their own thing for Mardi Gras, this will be our official spot.

We’re going to sit on the other side of the street this year.

I’ve  noticed that  the crowd is thinner on the Federal Reserve side so, that’s where I aim to be.

On another note, my daughter got her nose pierced *sigh*  She had been whining for one for a while now so, her dad brought her (and paid for it) as one her Christmas gifts. I wasn’t gonna pay for it but, I did agree to it.  She’ll be 18 in a few months and I’m trying to be a parent who supports her individuality so, I was willing to compromise.  She could get one but, it could only be a stud and it had to be the smallest stud available.  She happily agreed and as much as I hate to admit it, it really does look cute on her.  My daughter has a free spirit… I get her. Even when I feel like strangling her…I get her and she gets me.

WHO DAT!

The Saints game was awesome! I had to watch it at work but, we were some screaming fools on the job let me tell ya!

Now, let’s just go to Cali and git-r-done again!

BCS Championship is today!

I’m not going to the game but, I intend to go out there in some of the hoopla,

get in the midst of all that crazy energy.

GEAUX  TIGERS!!

 

7 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap…The King’s Day Edition

  1. Wow. That’s a lot of stuff going on down there. I was reading Lolo Jone’s fb page and she was talking about going to the game. I’d love to see it but I don’t have cable.

    I like your daughter’s nose ring. It’s cute.

    What is King’s Day?

  2. Val, according to the American Catholic.org’s website, here’s what King’s Day is all about. I copied and pasted this because, it’s a very good explanation.

    The Carnival season kicks off with the Epiphany, also known as Twelfth Night, Three Kings’ Day and, in the Eastern churches, Theophany. Epiphany, which falls on January 6, 12 days after Christmas, celebrates the visit of the Wise Men bearing gifts for the infant Jesus. In cultures that celebrate Carnival, Epiphany kicks off a series of parties leading up to Mardi Gras.

    Epiphany is also traditionally when celebrants serve King’s Cake, a custom that began in France in the 12th century. Legend has it that the cakes were made in a circle to represent the circular routes that the Wise Men took to find Jesus, in order to confuse King Herod and foil his plans of killing the Christ Child. In the early days, a coin or bean was hidden inside the cake, and whoever found the item was said to have good luck in the coming year. In Louisiana, bakers now put a small baby, representing the Christ Child, in the cake; the recipient is then expected to host the next King Cake p

  3. Oh and one more thing……what would you have done if your daughter wanted a tongue stud rather than a nose piercing.

    Would you have felt the same way about it?!?

    • No Reg. I would not have supported a tongue stud. I’m willing to support individuality within reason and the kids and I talk about it often. They know where I stand on those matters. Now, if she wants one later in life, she’ll be a grown ass woman then so, I can’t really stop her but, no my house is a “no tongue stud zone” so, she better make sure she can pay rent somewhere if she gets one.

Leave a Reply

