Day 15 Your Dreams (Part 1) The Career

My dreams….

My dreams.

My dreams are now goals.

I’ve move to the action part of them.

Dreams = Desired end product while Goals = Means to achieve dreams.

I wrote them down and now, I’m making them happen.

I’ll be in this nursing game until I retire at the ripe old age of death 70…maybe… I’ll probably work  a lil longer .

So, I’ll be returning to school in the fall.

My goal is to get my doctorate in nursing and then, move into research.

Time to leave you  good patients alone.

Time to move into the quiet aspect of nursing,

where you don’t have patients trying to attack or fondle you.

or family members trying to call state boards on you.

I can’t really complain about that,

I’ve never had a family member try to call boards on me.

I believe in treating folks the way I’d want my family members to be treated.

I can be trusted to take care of your family.

Because of that, I usually get the opposite end of the spectrum,

folks tend to just love me.

But, I’m getting old,

getting tired,

getting bored with this part of nursing.

Time to move on to something fresh.

In my nursing career span I’ve seen,

A nurse get beat down by a CNA with a mop…y’all remember that post?

If you missed it, just go into the nursing category to the right…it’s in there.

I’ve also seen a pregnant nurse get attacked by a patient,

a nurse get hit upside the head with a bottle by a patient,

doctors throw charts at nurses,

family members wanting to fight nurses,

and a whole lotta other stuff.

Yeah, its brutal…

it ain’t all Florence Nightingale.

Sometimes, it’s A Nightmare on Elm Street.

I never had any of that drama though,

No siree, Bob.

Never had a chart thrown at me.

People know who to play with…that’s all I’m gonna say about that matter.

I’ve been goosed by a few patients though,

been asked out by a few male patients…and a few female ones too.

But it’s time for the quiet part of my career to begin.

The kids are pretty much out the way.

They’re at that stage where, they’re out of my hair but, not out of my pockets.

I don’t know how long it’s gonna take for me to complete my goal but, all of my ducks are in a row.

I’m just waiting for the fall to roll around.

I can’t wait to get started!

9 thoughts on “Day 15 Your Dreams (Part 1) The Career

  1. I’ve been debating for a while if I want to go ahead and change careers. It’s kind of daunting to think about, especially in this economic climate. But I don’t love what I do now. At least not anymore. So maybe I’ll look into making a change.

    This was a really inspirational post. Thanks.

    Oh and did those doctors get reprimanded for throwing charts at nurses? I know they didn’t get fired cuz that would be too much like the right way to do things.

    • Val, I know what you mean. I’ve contemplated that many times. I’m fortunate that nursing has so many options that, I can just switch to a different area of the game.
      Now, you KNOW those doctors didn’t get reprimanded right. I remember many years ago when I was working at a LTAC ( long term acute care), this one doctor threw something at a nurse while he was standing right next to me at the nurses station.
      Right after he did it, before you knew it, my big-mouth said(talking to the nurses behind the station),
      See, this right here (pointing to the doc next to me) is the reason, I’m not working in hospitals right now. Cuz, if he woulda done that shit to me…ida brained him right here on da spot.
      It flew outta my mouth so fast, I couldn’t catch it…lol but, I was sooo pissed that some grown ass man would have a temper tantrum and throw something at a woman. It’s never about he’s the “superior” doctor and she’s the “lowly” nurse, cuz he NEVER would have done that to a male nurse…hmmmmm. Sometimes nursing is just another venue for some fool who likes to abuse women to do so.
      But when I said what I did, it must have dawned on him that, that mess was foul and every nurse ain’t gonna sit by and let you just throw something at them. Some nurses are gonna get REEEEAAALLLYYY frogging and jump! So, he went and apologized to the nurse. LOL

  2. Hey lady…you have my TOTAL support, whatever you need done just let me know and it shall be so . So let it be written,so let it be done ! Love YOU dawlin ! …NavySeal

Leave a Reply

