It’s Festival Time.

This weekend was an extremely busy one.  For starters…my dad is home again. He returned Saturday but, that’s another post in itself.  Sunday was myyyy dayyyy.  The French Quarter Fest was this weekend and ya know, I love me some festivals!  This is my favorite time of the year.  The strawberry fest in Ponchatula was also this weekend but, I went a few years ago and I didn’t really have fun at that one.

The French Quarter Fest is da bomb so, if ya ever planning a trip to the city…that’s a really great time to visit. The weather isn’t hot as hell yet and you still get the NOLA  party flava.  We arrived out there around 3:00 and walked around trying to figure out what booths we wanted to hit. Even though it was super crowded, the lines were moving fast at the booths.

I started with crab cakes with a creamy crawfish sauce, NS  had crawfish pasta.

I followed that with some crawfish bread(I was on a crawfish kick) and NS had an alligator sausage kabob. I had never eaten gator meat before…lawd, that stuff was good!

Guess I’ll be getting gator meat at the festivals now.

Naw, we don’t have any pics of the food…we killed that stuff before I could get the camera out.

The closest we got to one was…

NS catching me while I was taking a swig of coke…  I love how the wind blew my hat,reminds me of  Hee-Haw.LOL

The music was plentiful.   We didn’t go into Jackson Square…just hung out along the mighty Mississippi at Woldenberg Park

and headed for the Cajun/Zydeco tent. Y’all know I love me some Zydeco and Rockin’ Doopsie  Jr. was closing out the fest…there was no way I was missing Doopsie! He is one hell of a performer!

Doopsie had the crowd on their feet and totally engaged. I lost my voice from screaming so much and I danced the entire time…so did a lot of other folks.

I’m gonna learn this zydeco two-step if it kills me.  The energy out there was so festive…

just lovin’ life man…just lovin life.  The weather was beyond gorgeous, the food was fantastic, the music… off the chain.

She was everything I love about her and more.

Show’em how we do it  in Louisiana Doopsie…

10 thoughts on “It’s Festival Time.

  1. Wonderful post! it’s a great festival, free, fun and even the weather was pretty. and about Ponchatoula, I like visiting there better when it is not the festival. thanks for posting all these cute photos, sp

    • SP, It really is a great festival…I hope it remains free. The parking was only $10 at the Convention Center and the shuttle brought you from the lot to Canal Street…couldn’t beat it. The crowd in Ponchatoula is too dense for me in such a small space. I actually was feeling kinda claustrophobic. I may give them one more shot and go out there next year. Problem is though, they’re always the weekend of the French Quarter Fest…which I love!

  2. You just HAD to mention crawfish bread didn’tcha? And your lookin’ good in your Hee Haw hat. 🙂

    I definitely miss this time of year.

    • SIL, I thought about you and your hubby with every bite! I was gonna send you some but, I didn’t know how well it would ship. There’s still a chance…Jazz Fest starts in a few weeks.

  3. Hey, that’s my buddy Eric in the ballcap and ugly plaid shorts. (Tell him I said so). Man, can he dance, but his parents used to win contests back in the 40s and 50s and I guess it runs in teh blood.

  4. We went out there Friday and had a great time! The crowds weren’t bad and the food was WONDERFUL!!!! I’m with you on sticking to Woldenberg park. The breeze there keeps it comfortable. I wish they’d have the Creole Tomato fest there.

    • I wish the tomato fest was there too Judy. I really enjoyed being in that area. I hope they put the Zydeco stage back over there next year.

    • Reg, I love this time of the year…I always have a great time at festivals. I do more screaming and dancing than the law allows. Speaking of which…I have that zydeco two-step down pat!

Leave a Reply

