Happy Lundi Gras!

Well, I survived the parade day from hell. Me and my road dawg (yellowjacket) got out there at 7:30 as planned and let me tell ya, it was cold out there. We layered up pretty well and had some blankets with us so, it wasn’t too bad.  It was still nice and empty under the bridge at  Lee Circle so, we had our pick of the day.  Yellowjacket got nice and comfy while I walked to the gas station and picked up some hot chocolate for her….the things we do for our kids.

While it was empty under the bridge, right by us on St. Charles Ave. told a different story…

 

Yeah, folks were already out on the neutral grounds  in full force and Lee Circle wasn’t any better…

I had forgotten that, in addition to Midcity, Bacchus and Endymion they had two more parades…Okeanos and Thoth that rolled as well. That made for a total of 5 parades rolling that day uptown and two of the five were super krewes. It was like Mardi Gras day out there. By 11:00 a.m. the crowd was like this…

with many more to come.  Okeanos rolled on time, MidCity was late as hell(and chinchy), Thoth is my new favorite krewe…they threw something fierce! Reminded me of the old days when riders knew how to “make it rain” with throws.  By the time Thoth hit the streets, the crowd was at Mardi Gras day level.

Bacchus hit my area at 8:30 p.m. and I had been out there for over 12 hours. I was tired at hell and people started trying to move their way to the front which, I’m used to being a native. But, after 12 hours…umm, I gotta say, I wasn’t my nice, bubbly self out there with folks trying to “sneak” into my territory. I was already by the barricades(you can see in the first pic), how some people think they’re going to jump the barricades and just stand there all willy-nilly in front of me and my kids is beyond me.

All I’m gonna say about that is…by the time I finished, people were moving everywhere but, by me. LOL

I hadn’t seen Bacchus in ages and was glad I went.

Bacchus is the only krewe that has floats you get to throw beads at..that’s always fun!

The oldest float you throw back at  is King Kong and he’s still rolling so, if you all ever go to a Bacchus parade, make sure you have some junk beads (beads you don’t want) ready to throw at Kong…

Andy Garcia was the King of Bacchus and he was having a ball up there…

By the time Bacchus finished passing, it was 10:30 p.m. and we still had Endymion left to go.

Many people left after Bacchus. We waited about 20 minutes for Endymion but, it was almost 11 p.m. and they hadn’t made it by us yet so, we left.

Made it home around midnight…very sore, very tired.

Took a shower and fell into a coma.

Would I do it again?

YOU BETCHA!

I’m NOLA through and through.

4 thoughts on “Happy Lundi Gras!

  1. I never miss New Orleans more than the week of Mardi Gras. Even if I didn’t feel like going to a parade, simply knowing that I could if I wanted to and being that close to the madness was enough. Now I’m WAAAAY out here where tomorrow is just…Tuesday. And to make matters worse, for the first time EVER, I have to work on Mardi Gras Day. Ugh!

    We’ve gotta bring the kids down one year.

    • I feel ya. We just got home, we had so much fun out there! The rain held up and….ZULU STARTED EARLY!!!

      Is the world coming to an end? LOL

    • ROTFLMAO! No Reggie but, they had a lady(?) around me who raised her shirt up for some. The rider didn’t throw them because she had a bra on…lol

Leave a Reply

