Vieux- To- Do

I love this time of year.  Even though it’s hot as heck, the festivals that this time of year brings, makes all of that heat worthwhile.   Yellow Jacket, Navy Seal and I went to the French Quarters for the festivals and let me tell ya… we had so much fun!  It was really cloudy before we got there so, we brought some rain gear with us.  Good thing we did because, as soon as we hit the Quarters…it started raining. That didn’t stop the show though…I was near some serious food and crazy-great Cajun-Zydeco music, there was no way we were turning back.

We walked through the tomato fest first and I spotted some fried green tomatoes.  Since I’ve never had them before, I decided to give them a try.See the dude in the yellow raincoat?  That’s NavySeal. There was no way I was standing in the rain to get them tomatoes!  They were great…didn’t get to keep the dish too long though.

Yeah, she stole it from me.

We kept it light, just walking and eating our way though the Quarters…good thing we were WALKING because,

crab cakes with crawfish monica sauce

I went back THREE TIMES for this dish!

Well, I sent my hubby three times to get the dish..lol

The music out there was off the chain! Next time, Imma have to video this stuff because, Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers brought the house down! They played, When The Saints Go Marching In…Zydeco style and started a 2nd line.  Folks were doing the Cajun two-step and anything else they wanted to do.

It was just a really wonderful day out there…nobody cared about the rain. Food, friend, family and fun. Hot fun in the summertime had by all.

No need to leave the hotel...the party is just outside!

Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers

Dwayne Dopsie and Zydeco Hellraisers

2nd line goin' down...see all the towels in the air?...true NOLA.

getting their two-step on

Latin Band playing at Tomato Fest

getting their salsa on.

Zydeco Fest @ Esplande Ave.

dance your a** off was going down too out there.

she's getting ready!

BAM!

7 thoughts on “Vieux- To- Do

  1. I love your blog! I just visited NOLA for Jazz Fest and I miss not being there. I teach at a continuation school in South Central Los Angeles.
    I was so touched by your lovely family pictures of graduation.
    You have every right to be proud of your grad.Congratulations on all your hard work raising him!
    Blessings, Ms. B

    • Thanks Ellen and be sure to visit NOLA again! You know what we say here…there’s no such thing as strangers.

    • I know you miss all of this great food, that’s why you have to come down for Yellow Jacket’s graduation!
      Miss you too!!!

Leave a Reply

