OH HAPPY DAY!

Oracle,Oracle 2,Purple Knight (center),Miss Yellow Jacket and Navy Seal

Yesterday, my son and 103 other young  men graduated from St. Augustine High School.  I can’t believe those 18 years have flown by so fast.  As I watched my first born receive his diploma, I was beyond proud…I  couldn’t feel anything more than extremely blessed.

Blessed to be able to witness 104 young, beautiful black males receive their high school diploma…and my son was among them.  In this day and age when there is so much to distract them from their studies, they kept their game tight and did what they had to do to get that diploma.

The first true milestone in one’s life.

My brother (The Oracle) and nephew (Oracle 2) flew in from Spokane to attend the graduation.It was a milestone for him as well because, my son was only 2 weeks old when we attended his high school graduation from McDonald 35 (three-five, three-five.) He’s come full circle now…ya getting old bruh 🙂

The graduation was a magnificent, solemn event that took place at St. Joseph Catholic Church on Tulane Ave.  After the graduation, we did what all New Orleanians do…we went to eat!   Deanies in Bucktown was the graduate’s choice and let me tell ya…we had NO RESERVATIONS about eating the seafood!

I would write more but, in this case…a picture  really does paint  a thousand words.

Purple Knights for life.

2010 St. Augustine High School Graduates

Purple Knight and his best friend

The big moment...receiving that diploma!

Class of 2010 singing the alma mater for the 1st time as ALUMS!

Congratulations to my beloved Purple Knight and to the rest of the 2010 class!

JOB WELL DONE!

*sigh* seems like only yesterday, he was like this.

Purple Knight...2 days old

10 thoughts on “OH HAPPY DAY!

  1. Wow – I just cried AGAIN!! And he isn’t even mine. LOL It feels like it was yesterday, when I was moving in and a 3 year old little girl with braids and a shy 5 year old boy where constantly in my room, wondering what I was doing.

    How do they keep aging when I’m not?! 🙂

    And Deanies?!?!?!?!!?!? If I had known before had, I would have made the trip. YUMMY!!!

    Miss you guys!!

    • I know, it does seem like yesterday. He can’t wait to see you all, that’s all he’s talking about.
      Miss you too!

  2. Welcome to the alumni chapter Purple Knight!!!! Don’t forget to come back and play in the alumni band for homecoming!
    Are you all coming to the crawfish boil this weekend?

    • I’m trying to come out there. I have to work but, if I can get someone to work in my place…I’m there!

Leave a Reply

