Missing In Action

 

Well, I am back blog family and friends….where the heck have I been you ask?  I’ve been working like a Hebrew Slave…why is it that, when you work extra hard, you are working like a Hebrew slave?  I think it has something to do with having to make brick without straw…that’s darn near impossible!  

 

Why are you working like that you ask?  Because I am in the process of doing some little things to my home and I needed some ….moola, bread, cheddar, ductas, l‘argent,green, duckies…or however they heck they say money today. 

 

I really love my home but, I have always wanted a room that was totally whimsical so,  I have this one room that I am turning into a movie theatre with a bunch of whimsy to it…look at some of the deals I have been scoring!

 

 P1011296

I found this hot dog machine at Dillards  regular price $50.00.…on clearance for….$20.00!!!  We tested it in the store(wish I had some wieners on me so, I could have roasted a few) and it worked fine.   It was sold as is so, it didn’t have a box…I don’t need no box…gotta husband to carry that stuff! Let her have it! 

After I found this little steal, JC Penney ran an ad in the paper with a popcorn popper on sale.  I had been searching all over the net for one and  every one I came across was for $250-$300…they had it regular price $400 on sale for $200 plus, I had a coupon for $25 off of any purchase over $75! Are you kidding me….$175?  Let her have it!  The darn thing is 53” tall!  I love it!

P1011308

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found these whimsical wall hangings at Bed, Bath and Beyond on clearance for $2.00!

 P1011297

P1011298

  

    But, by far my best deal is the one I found on flooring. Yesterday at 8am,  was in Lowes looking for some flooring for my library and I spotted some beautiful looking Pergo regular price $3.59 sq. ft on clearance for $ 1.36 plus they had a sale for 15% off of all Pergo! I searched for the golden butternut but, with a sale like that and as pretty as it was looking on the display…naturally, it was sold out.  So, I said to myself…self, how many Lowes do they have in the greater New Orleans area?  I counted two in New Orleans, two in Metairie, and one that I knew how to get to across the river in Gretna.  My husband hates it when my OCD kicks in because, he knew he was in for one hell of a morning…I wanted that flooring and every Lowes was going to have to be out before I gave up on the hunt so, I put some gas in the Honda and headed to Metairie.  I went to the flooring section and sure enough, they had the same display but, when we looked under the display, we found the gunstock stacked across for three rows…now, my mother was one “hellofa” shopper…she would look under displays, in the cabinets that clearly said, “employees only” ….her rationale, “they ain’t hiding that ish from me so, they can come over here and buy it when they get off of work!”  So, being my mother’s daughter, I moved all of that gunstock out of the way and what do I finding “hiding” in the back?…..22 cases of golden butternut !!!!! How many do I need?….22 cases exactly!!!

Let her have it!    I ended up saving….$860.42!

 P1011300

P1011305

 

Just goes to show you what you can find with a little tenacity and gas in your car!

4 thoughts on “Missing In Action

  1. Oh wow! When do we get to see the finished product??!! I like what I’m seeing already! Mayne, I wish that I had an extra room to be all whimsical with, lol.

    And could you not disappear for so long in the future? Thanks!

  2. That is wonderful.

    Heck, at least you didn’t have to go to the Lowes in Mandeville. lol

    yeah, stop that disappearing. I get my N’awlins fix over this way, lol.

  3. I can’t wait to see the finished room… I think you need to stop working so hard so I can send Tyler down there to watch some movies with y’all during the summer. LOL! And yes, its been too long since you updated.

  4. I am hoping to have everything done in two months…I am in the process of painting the room right now. I’m having trouble locating the flooring and retro table that I want.

Leave a Reply

