Smart Kids Rock!!!

Since this is the end of the school year, I wanted to take the time to do some “shout outs” to those wonderful, hard-working kids who did a great job this year.  If you know any, shout them out.

CONGRATULATIONS TO MY NEPHEW!

My nephew (Oracle Jr.) who is in kindergarten, was evaluted this school year.  For his reading evaluation, my brother was told that, a grade of 4 would be considered within range.  My nephew scored…A WHOPPING 38!!!  The school also feels that, he will not be challenged in the next grade so, in all likelihood, they will let him skip a grade and go directly to second grade!

He’s a MENSA genius like his daddy!!!   T-Ali is sooo proud of you!

CONGRATULATIONS TO MY DAUGHTER, MS. YELLOW JACKET!

My daughter was doing very well academically with all of her subjects, except one..physics.  It was kicking her butt (back in the dinosaur days, we didn’t take physics in the 9th grade.)  But, not to be defeated, she dug her heels in and studied her patooty off, went to tutoring to get help and brought her average up from a “D” to a “B”!  Now, she’s heading to her final with an “A” average!!! 

The beauty of it all is that, she did all of this without any pushing or prodding from me.  She knew she was smarter than that “D” and sought out the help she needed to understand the subject!!!

You go girl!!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE 2009 CLASS OF XAVIER PREP!

The school where my daughter attends is on point with the academics big time!

The class of 2009 has a graduating class of 64 students…52 of the 64 have received ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS!!!!

62 of the 64 are officially accepted to the university of their choice!!

Those kind of stats are off the chain!!

This school is 100% young, black females who are once again debunking the myth that, schools with all black students are substandard.

WAY TO GO  XUP!

Last but  not least,

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE 2009 GRADUATING CLASS OF St. Augustine High School!

I don’t have the stats on Aug yet but, this 100% black male school has had a long standing legacy of excellence (google St. Augustine  High School in New Orleans.) And because I know a lot of the seniors, I would be remiss if I didn’t say how proud I was of these young men who have beat the odds (especially here in NOLA) and received their high school diploma.

I salute you fellas…

Purple on the left side, Gold on the right…black in the middle, that makes you a knight..oh, ohhhhh!

6 thoughts on “Smart Kids Rock!!!

  1. LOL! Congrats to all of them. My old boss’ son is graduating from St. Aug this year.

    I’m just gonna go on ahead and shamelessly shout out my son, J, who has consistently improved his grades with every quarter. He made all (E)xcellents and (G)oods on all 20 million of his classes and shocked himself b/c he did better than he anticipated.

    Plus, he gets HIMSELF up every morning, takes his bath, and fixes himself breakfast before I can open one eye. I don’t remember being that independent at 7 y/o. And although I made straight A’s, I don’t remember liking school that much either, lol.

  2. @LB, you better shout that baby out! He is doing a wonderful job.
    Stand on a chair and say, “that’s MY baby!”..lol
    Go J, you rock!!!!

    @ MrsSaditty,I think kids get a bad rap a lot of times. Many of them try really hard to do well in school and should be applauded. I am proud of them all as if each and every one of them were my own. In fact, the girls at my daughter’s school call me “mom.” I think that is such a compliment, they know I have their best interest at heart.

  3. Hooray for Ms. Yellow Jacket! I have to be completely honest and say I never thought it would happen but I am SO SO glad it finally kicked in!!!!!

    And Oracle Jr. might be smart in school but he can’t stop jumping in his bed. LOL Yesterday, he named all of the Biggest Loser players…….from last season. I was like “Who?!” LOL This kid…….

  4. @Andrea, No more pushing or prodding..am I glad..Hell yeah! He remembered everyone from last season huh? I can’t remember this season’s players.

    @LadyLee, I get so sick of hearing all of the bad stuff about our kids, too many of them are doing very well and need to be applauded for their hard work.

Leave a Reply

