Oh Lawd, She Beat Her Ass With The Mop!

I don’t know why but, I always seem to be a witness to some “goings-on.”  A woman  I know who is the Administrator at an extended-care facility, asked me to come by her to be the weekend supervisor and make some “easy money.”   All I had to do was make sure that, everyone does their job and if there is a medical crisis, that’s when I kick in.  There rarely is a crisis.  The thing about nurses is, no matter how much money they are making, they are always looking to make more so, naturally, I said yes.

Well, I am tee-tottering around, watchingthe nurses give their assignments out to the certified nursing assistants (cna’s) and this one LPN is sticking out to me.

I feel the storm beginning to stir….just like Katrina.

She’s talking to her CNA’s like this;

HEY JAMILLA, YOU NEED TO GET MR. FOSTER UP NOW!

WHERE IS MS STERN?!!!

I AM NOT FOR THIS THIS MORNING!!!!!!

She apparently got her LPN from the Louisiana College of Ghetto Nurses because she was riding the hell out of the workers and talking straight crazy to them.

Now, if there is one thing I do have it’s, exceptional assessment skills and I am just checking this out and I am thinking to myself….

Ok, let’s go to DEFCON 3 because, most of these CNA’s come from the Calliope project and I have a feeling a storm is brewing.

Well, Jamilla went along doing her work and to be honest, she was really quite quiet while ghetto nurse was tripping on her help.

The calm before the storm.

Ghetto nurse told Jamilla, “LOOK, YOU NEED TO GET THOSE PEOPLE UP..IF YOU DON’T WANT TO WORK, CLOCK OUT!!

 Now mind you, the workers were doing their job, they just weren’t  doing it as fast as SHE wanted it done.

I look at Jamilla who is still pretty quiet but, her eyes are welling up with tears.

Now, my spidey-senses have kicked in full blast now…RED ALERT!…RED ALERT!….RED ALERT!….CAT 5 STORM GETTING READY TO HIT!

And before I could even move to take Jamilla out of the area, she walks over to a bucket that has this industrial size mop in it (the kind with the thick, long handle),and while brisk walking to the bucket I hear her say rather softly…

I am sick of you with your shit today.

Proceeded to take the mop out of the bucket, turn it upside down and…

BEAT THE SHIT OUT OF GHETTO NURSE!!!

I mean she was crying, talking and wailing on her all at the same time…with every word you heard a bop with the mop handle..

I *bop* AM *bop* SICK *bop* OF *bop* YOUR *bop* F*ing *bop* SHIT *bop**bop**bop*

Now, ghetto nurse who is getting tagged in the worst way, starts screaming for help…which would have been cool if, she got along with the nurse she was calling on to help her…

ghetto nurse:  Shelita!! Help me!! Help! Help!

Shelita: *looking all around herself*  I don’t know what she’s calling me for,  humph.

But wait…it only gets better..

I tell the cna’s to go call the security guard.

The security guard who is a female, looks the situation over and says, “I’m not getting into that.”….and walks off to call 911.

I call some of my male cna’s from the other unit and they broke the beat down up.

Now, we are waiting for the po-pos to arrive.  I have taken Jamilla into the office and she is balling like crazy….come to find out that, her mother is deathly ill and her mom is the only support she has to help her with her kids.

She came to work with all of this on her back and ghetto nurse was riding it.

New Orleans finest finally arrive and Jamilla goes to jail.

Ghetto nurse goes to the emergency room.

I have been a firm believer that, you never know what frame of mind someone shows up to work in.   There usually is a reason why people go “postal” and all it takes is the one fool who keeps riding a person for a person to just snap and lose it.  Everyone can’t be in an authoritative position and ghetto nurse is one of those people.  She kept riding someone who mentally, had just had enough.

This economy is stressing everyone out… now add that to the fact that, here in New Orleans, we are still dealing with rebuilding from Katrina and you have a bunch of people in a city who are about as “shell-shocked” as you can get. 

 People have lost everything they ever owned, family members, friends, neighborhoods and some have rebuilt only to lose their jobs and homes because of the economy.  

Everyone should protect their mental health just as they would their physical.  Don’t let the stress pile up on you until it releases itself in a way that it lands you in jail because,

the mind really is a terrible thing to waste.

*update-  Jamilla is out of jail, ghetto nurse has a broken arm and ironically enough, did not press charges.  I had a shitload of paperwork to do.

11 thoughts on “Oh Lawd, She Beat Her Ass With The Mop!

  1. I can surely feel for the nurse with mop — I do hope she lands on her feet…I love my city and ALL of its unique inhabitants –but ghetto nurse had that coming…she really did.

  2. MY GOODNESS! That had to be something else to witness. Ghetto Nurse will think twice before she mess with folks.

    You’re right. You never know what’s up for people. Never.

  3. DAMN! I can’t get the image of someone getting their ass beat with a mop outta my head. Lawdhavmercy!!!

    Well, ghetto nurse just got schooled!

  4. Came over from LB’s spot. This quote right here “I have been a firm believer that, you never know what frame of mind someone shows up to work in” is the truth!!! You don’t know what people have going in. At home, in their head,whatever. Was Jamilla wrong to assault the woman? Yes, but the other one got what she had coming to her. Buuuut damn, a broken arm.

  5. @Everyone…ya’ll that was something to see. Yeah, ghetto nurse had it coming…the other cna’s was talking about kicking her butt too…Jamila just beat them to it.

  6. I just stumbled on your blog and this post had me ROFL – OMG you’re too funny!! The Louisiana College of Ghetto Nurses LOL I’m gonna have to use that!! Ha Ha!

  7. This is the best laugh that I have had in AGES! I am sure that the bail was well worth it because whipping that ass probably felt GOOD. You brought up an interesting point–you never know what kind of a day a person is having and what is going on in their life…they can be a loaded weapon (literally).
    Also Ali, the government and the general public worried about replacing worldly possession after Katrina but no agency was able to figure out that people who had lost everything (memories, family, homes, traditions) would need extensive counseling to get back on track. Its not a day that I dont pray for all those involved.

  8. @Gaella…Welcome aboard and hang around a bit…in this profession I always seem to get some very interesting stories to tell.
    @Mrs. Saditty..I bet Jamilla felt that it was worth every bop to ghetto nurse’s head!

  9. I was a manager for a number of years. I learned two things above all:

    1. Show the people who work for you the same respect that you want them to show you;

    2. If you want people to play like winners, treat them like winners.

    These are the people you go to war with every day. Much better to have them on your side.

    • Exactly! I am with you on that one. I have never had a problem with any of my workers because I treat them with much respect. Or, as they say around here, I’m “real” with them.

Leave a Reply

