Best Friends Forever

Today, while I was painting my house, I had an unexpected visit from one of my oldest and dearest friends.  I really can’t remember a time when I did not know her.  We grew up three blocks from one another and went to the same elementary, middle and high school.  We also went to the same church, ran track together, was on the flag team together, went to every school dance or function together and we are both nurses. She was the maid of honor in my wedding and I was hers.  She’s smart as a whip(  our graduating class  had 335 students, she was ranked #4) and beautiful. 

 Due to the daily grind that is life, we don’t see each other that often but, somehow, when a crisis is happening, we seek each other out.  When my mom passed, she was the first person I wanted to talk to. When her mom passed, she came to my house.  Today, she told me that after being married for 20 years, she’s getting a divorce.  She needed a rock in her life and I gladly obliged.  We laughed and giggled like the crazy, goofy high school girls we used to be.  We have so much history we share that, it’s like talking to a piece of yourself. I know she must be hurting,  20 years is a lot of time to be with someone and have it come to an end.

I am just glad that she knows in her heart that, I  am a constant force in her life.  Someone who will always be there, even though we don’t see each other or talk too often.  Someone who will help her forget that hurt for a minute by making her laugh so much that she is holding her stomach, begging for me to stop.  Someone that I love with all of my heart….. my best friend forever.

9 thoughts on “Best Friends Forever

  1. I’m sad that she’s been married that long and it’s ending. I can’t imagine that. Its like losing a friend. How do you even manage to start back dating? Every event would involve memories of that person? I’m glad you are there for her and she at least has you.

  2. She has a great support group around her and I think that is how she handles it all. Her parents have…wait for it……15 children!!! 7 girls and 8 boys..(no twins or anything.) All of the sisters are really close so, she has an awesome network of sisters who will keep an eye on her.

  3. I have a BFF, who is coming up to spend Mardi Gras week with me in VA. We went to high school together and were college roommates (that’s when we discovered that we went to the same dance school when we were 3 y/o). Anyway, she was there for me when my mom was sick and she and her parents ACTUALLY drove 8 hours to and from Chattanooga for my mom’s funeral (where my mom was born). When my son was born, she came over to help me clean the house while I was all frantic about having a newborn.

    This post actually made me a little teary-eyed thinking about how blessed we are to truly have friends like these b/c they are indeed few and far between. I can’t imagine what its like for her now, but I’m sure that with you and her sibling support system, she’ll be fine as wine.

  4. This is a wonderful post! As you know, Shelloy and I have known each other half our lives. I don’t know what I would do without her. She has supported me through moving, being homesick, coming home. She’s shouldered tens of thousands of tears – both happy and sad. She is more than my BFF – she is my sister!

    Everyone should have that kind of friendship and it is nice to know you do. 🙂

    Love ya sis!

  5. @LB and Andrea: True girlfriends, the ones who have stood the test of time and fire with you are truly a blessing. They do transcend from being a friend to being your sister.

    • Crawl away chick! I welcome anyone who wants to hang around these parts. She’s doing fine now, she is divorced and her daughter is in college now so, she’s been dating again. She doesn’t want another husband though. She seems really happy and that’s all I really want for her. I think since the stress of trying to make something work that clearly wasn’t is gone, she’s able to breathe again…and that’s a good thing.
      Life is too short for the drama.

      • Yes, Life truly is too short ot be unhappy. I am glad she is doing better. I have often heard that once someone has a bad marriage, they don’t want to do it again.

Leave a Reply

