Grandstanding For Mardi Gras

scan0003

This Mardi Gras, my husband and I have decided to something we have never done before in our lives, we’ve decided to sit in the grandstand seats on Fat Tuesday.  The grandstand seats are the seats at Gallier Hall and also at Lafayette Square which is across the street.  The grandstand seats are really thee place to be if you want to hear every single band perform because that’s where it’s going to happen.  All bands have to play in front of Gallier Hall and it’s also the place where the Mayor toasts Rex and Zulu  so, it really is the parade hot spot.   For any “bandheads”like myself,all bands also play under any bridge(i.e. on Canal and Claiborne for Endymion and on St. Charles and Lee Circle for uptown parades) because the bridge helps to project the sound.  Good luck getting a spot there though, EVERYONE wants to hear the bands play so, it’s hard to get a good spot.

Most people do not like grandstand seats and I can fully understand why.  Mardi Gras is a time for family and friends to get together.  Most people bring their grill on the parade route and they cook  red beans and all sorts of other dishes and spend the entire day there enjoying the festivities.  Also, why pay to sit in some bleaches when you can set up shop on the neutral ground (called the median by non-New Orleanians) for free.

This year, it will just be my hubby and me out there. Both of my kids are  in their schools’ marching bands(yea! Aug and Prep) and they have to march on that day so, they won’t be with us.  There’s no need for us to fight the crowds for a spot on the neutral ground because, we didn’t plan on cooking anything out there(there are plenty of vendors selling food  and you always run into someone you know, so we won’t be hungry.)

If you want the  freedom to run around and catch throws the grandstands are not for you.  But, if you are old -foggies like we are, who are pretty much done with Mardi Gras but have to be out there anyway(gotta support the kiddies) this is the place to be.

5 thoughts on “Grandstanding For Mardi Gras

  1. Hmmm…I might grandstand one day and see how it is. I may try to come home for Mardi Gras next year…it seems like it has been forever since I truly participated. I’m used to being on the neutral ground with a cooler though. It must be exciting to have the kids in the bands.

  2. @LB: I’ll be blogging about quite a bit about Mardi Gras,I’ll be sure to let you know how it was. It’s going to feel weird,because I’m used to the neutral ground scene myself. The kids are hyped up and ready to go!!
    You should come home for a Mardi Gras. I’m not a big fan of “Mardi Grass” but,for those of us who grew up with it,it just made us feel so much better after Katrina. It was real soothing to the soul to see the kids march and parades roll again.

  3. Woo hoo!!!!! Now this is very exciting. Take lots of pics. I sure do miss Mardi Gras! But we’ll be thinking of it here, in wintery Spokane. We usually have the internet running WWL…..but it just isn’t the same.

  4. @Andrea, I’ll be posting TONS of pics, people will probably get tired of my Mardi Gras blogging..lol
    @LadyLee, The Krewe of Pontchartrain rolls at 1:00 p.m. I think the only time parades roll real early in the morning is on Mardi Gras day.

Leave a Reply

