Randazzo Ramblings

Lawd, I should be ashamed of this post.  There is so much going on in the world today and in the blogsphere that I really should be writing about some social, political or moral issue. But, I am from NOLA and I am a true New Orleanian (in other places people eat to live, in New Orleans we live to eat!)so, right now the only thing I can think of is….. A KING CAKE!!!  It’s getting near Mardi Gras time and the city is preparing, bleaches are up and king cakes have hit the bakeries.kingcake

I have had king cakes from just about every bakery around here and there is this one place that has the some of the best king cakes around.  They have yet to pump out any cakes that weren’t flavorful or moist.  People start lining up for these cakes as soon as the bakery opens and usually around 10 am they are sold out!  My favorite king cake place is,manny-randazzo1

Manny Randazzos King Cakes are the best!!!!!  They have all sorts of flavors but, I like the original king cake without all of those extra fillings.  They ship anywhere in the USA so, if anyone wants to try a king cake or, if anyone is from this area and is feeling a little home sick, get yourself a cake from Randazzos, you won’t be disappointed.

http://www.mannyrandazzo.com/

8 thoughts on “Randazzo Ramblings

  1. I lived in the N.O. for a couple of years and I do remember the legacy of the king cakes. I never bought one when I was down there, only had them when someone bought one to work. They were definitely good!

    I will be down there to hop a cruise around Mardi Gras time. Maybe I’ll drive over to Metarie to get one of those cakes:)

  2. @LadyLee:Welcome aboard, have fun on your trip. I wish I was going somewhere around that time. I would love to get away from the madness that is Mardi Gras.

  3. I don’t think that I’ve ever had one from there. I think that I’ve had McKenzie’s, Gambino’s, and Lawrence’s Bakery (?) on Elysian Fields. I might have to try that one.

    I was reading through some of your previous blogs and everytime I saw “Purple Knight”, I giggled. It seems that the N.O. is one of the few places where people represent their high schools over their colleges. Matter of fact, I was arguing with someone over Ben Franklin the other day, lol. I never thought about nicknaming myself a Falcon….hmmm.

    Anyway, it’s nice to see someone blogging from home.

    • Welcome aboard LB…you are bringing back down memory lane talking about king cakes from McKenzie’s and my past time favorite, Lawrence’s Bakery(Mr. Wedding Cake.) Yep, it was on Elysian Fields…I think I cried the day he said he was shutting down..lol

      My son is still at Aug so, you know he is bleeding purple and gold, hence his blog name of Purple Knight and lawd, he is in the band so WE ALL KNOW what THAT means. A Marching 100? He got it really bad. 🙂

      I know what you mean about the reppin’ high schools over colleges thing. Don’t know why that is exactly but at the football games, you see more of us old folks sitting in the stands than young people..lol I think it has a lot to do with Mardi Gras and the bands. The whole who has the”best band in the land” thing is rampant in NOLA.

Leave a Reply

