Giving Thanks

Today I find myself being very grateful, very thankful that I have such wonderful blessings during the last three years (since Katrina hit.)  These three years of rebuilding have been very hard for me. I am thankful that I did not go crazy and that’s no joke either.  There were times that I felt that I was walking the tight rope of sane and insane.  Being around so much devastation plays into your psyche no matter what anyone says.

I am grateful that I have the best brother and SIL in the world because, while my world had been washed away,  they graciously offered to take my kids who were 11 and 13 so that I could come home and handle the rebuilding process.  If it wasn’t for that help, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

I am grateful for the wonderful volunteers who came to this city and gave so much of themselves. My heart gets full every time I think of them gutting homes, feeding people, rebuilding, doing whatever was required.THANK YOU, THANK YOU FOR BELIEVING IN NEW ORLEANS.

I am thankful for my husband and my kids who have lived in this house with the downstairs having only studs and not once complained that it was taking too long for the house to become complete.  I know that if we got through this shit, there is NOTHING that we can’t get through as a family.  We have been tested and we passed. 

Life has not been easy for me but, I keep pushing because it’s all I know how to do.  I don’t know how to give up or give in.  It’s not in my nature. I  either get the job done or die trying, that’s me.  I am thankful that I have a family who understands that and give me a hand.  Because no person is an island. 

I AM THANKFUL THAT I AM AWARE OF THAT FACT.

Leave a Reply

