Time To Talk Turkey

charliebrownthanksgivingcoverWith Thanksgiving a little over a week away, it’s time for me to start getting my menu together. I think I am going to stick with my traditional New Orleans style menu;

Gumbo,stuffed bell peppers, baked mac and cheese, candied yams, veggies, creole cornbread dressing, green salad(as opposed to potato salad) and a turkey of course. For dessert, I am thinking a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing. 

I wonder how I end up cooking so much food for only four people.  The truth is, I love holiday cooking.  It makes me happy to feed the people that I love and the fact that I can cook my azz off helps.  I am such a ritualistic person that everyone knows  once they see me break out my “girlie movies”(Steel Magnolias, As Good As It Gets,  and my favorite movie, The Godfather) I am getting ready to throw down in the kitchen. 

I remember my mom would start cooking the day before Thanksgiving.  She would start with her gumbo and we would have gumbo for dinner that evening. Then,she’d fix all of her other dishes with the exception of the mac and cheese(gotta have that fresh from the oven)  spending the entire day in the kitchen cooking and watching tv. It’s amazing how much I picked up from her without even trying.

This year, my daughter(ms. yellow jacket), wants to help me cook.  I think it’s time to show her the ropes, should be fun, I know it’ll be interesting.

4 thoughts on “Time To Talk Turkey

  1. Feel free to pass that stuffed pepper and cornbread dressing recipe along to your wonderful sister-in-law. 🙂 I was JUST telling Dereck I needed to get those from you. I am dying for some Ali turkey too. Ugh!

  2. They’ll be on the way as soon as this frigging cold decides to leave me alone. Feeling weak, where’s the bed? The bed is my friend.

Leave a Reply

