OBAMA WON!!!!!!!!!!!

Yesterday, we elected the first black President. I can’t feel anything but mad pride for my country.  This country has had a legacy of racism far too long and the fact that the American people were able to look past color and elect a black president, speaks volumes about how far we have come as a nation.

I think about Martin  L. King, Malcomn X, Emmit Till, Medgar Evers, A.P. Tureaud, Dutch Morial, Rosa Parks, and so many, many others who were a part of the struggle and sacrifice to get us to this day.  It makes me want to live a better life in a renewed sense.  Today, I find myself thinking of those that made it through the middle passage, those who were lynched or tortured and I hope that, their spirits are soaring with rejoice.  Not so much because a black man is now president, but because the America that was once enveloped with so much hate is changing, has changed.

I am happy for my father who was born during the Great Depression, raised in the deep south under Jim Crow, and served in a segregated military that he lived to see this day.

I am happy for my children who can now truly believe that anything is possible if you work hard and refuse to give up.

But mostly, I am happy for the United States of America.

Leave a Reply

